Violence & Movies: Thoughts by Roger Ebert

Many people believe that violence in movies is very destructive to youths way of thinking in real life situations. In the article by Roger Ebert “if they(kids) are influenced by anything, they are influenced by news programs like your own. He is talking about news programs that release incidents such as a kid going into a school and starts shooting. He explains how this kid did not get influenced by a movie but by a similar event. News about violence is what kids are being influenced by not the movies that they like to watch.

Ebert said to a reporter talking about what a child will think of a news channel screening this incident, “If I shoot up my school, I can be famous. The TV will talk about nothing else but me. Experts will try to figure out what I was thinking. The kids and teachers at school will see they shouldn’t have messed with me. I’ll go out in a blaze of glory.” 

http://www.ritholtz.com/blog/2013/04/violence-movies-thoughts-by-roger-ebert/

Leave a comment